Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

Connecticut Flag

Shop for authentic Connecticut Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor Connecticut flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor Connecticut flag sets.

History of the Connecticut Flag

The Connecticut State Flag features an azure blue filed with a white shield in the center of it that features three grapevines (each grapevine has three bunches of purple grapes). Below the shield is a white banner that states "Qui Trastulit Sustinet" which translates as "He who translated still sustains." This is also the state motto. The three grapevines on the shield of the Connecticut State flag represent the three oldest settlements, which were Windsor, Wethersfield and Hartford or they represent the three separate settlements, which were Connecticut colony, Saybrook Colony, and New Haven Colony. The Connecticut State Flag was introduced in 1895 by Governor Owen Vincent Coffin and was officially adopted on September 9th, 1897. The design of the flag originates from the Seal of Saybrook Colony that was established in 1635 and featured fifteen grapevines.

Connecticut is a state that is located in the Northeastern, New England region of the United States of America. It borders Long Island Sound, New York, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island. Its capital city and second largest in the state is called Hartford. Hartford is also known as the "Insurance capital of the world" as there are many insurance headquarters located there and insurance is a major industry. The state is divided into three categories, which are The Western Uplands, The Central Lowlands, and Eastern Uplands. Connecticut is named after Connecticut River and derives from the word "quinatucquet" which translates as "beside the long tidal river." Connecticut is referred to as the "Constitution State" as it is home to the first written constitution which was "the fundamental orders of Connecticut." It was also unofficially referred to as the "Nutmeg State" as early inhabitants used to make and sell wooden nutmegs. Connecticut was first inhabited approximately 10,000 years ago. Eventually American Tribes came to the area which included Mohegan, Pequot, and Niantic. The first European to arrive to the area was Dutch Explorer, Adriaen Block, in 1614. British settlers soon began arriving to the area and the first settlement was established in 1633 and the area became a British Colony. In 1776, Connecticut revolted against the British Rule and signed a Declaration of Independence, which resulted in the American Revolution. Following the revolution, in 1783, all the colonies achieved independence from British Rule. On January 9th, 1788, Connecticut officially became a state of the United States of America.

Connecticut is a state that is often visited for its tourist attractions, the two main ones being, the "Mark Twain House," which was the official residence of the author Mark Twain, who wrote most of his novels from here. It is considered to be the "best historic house in the world" and is a very important landmark. Another main tourist attraction is the "Gillette Castle State Park" which was the residence of William Gillette (he was an actor who played Sherlock Holmes).

5,543 sq mi
3,574,097 (2010)
The Constitution State, The Nutmeg State, The Provisions State, The Land of Steady Habits
State Flower
Mountain laurel
State Bird
American Robin