Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

Georgia Flag

Shop for authentic Georgia Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor Georgia flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor Georgia flag sets.

History of the Georgia Flag

The Georgia State Flag features three horizontal bands in the colors of red, white, and red. In the top left-hand corner of the flag is a blue square that features a ring of thirteen white stars with the states Coat of Arms in the center of the ring. The Coat of Arms consists of an arch (representing the states constitution) with three columns, which represent the different sections of the government (legislative, executive, and judicial). On each column, the words of the state motto are written (wisdom, justice, and moderation). Between the second and third column is a male figure dressed in military uniform which dates back to the American Revolutionary War. Below the arch "In God We Trust" is written, which represents the states "foundation." The thirteen stars on the Georgia state Flag represent Georgia being one of the original thirteen colonies. The current flag was adopted on May 8th, 2003.

Georgia is a Southeastern State in the United States of America that shares borders with Florida, Tennessee, South Carolina, North Carolina, Alabama, Florida, and the Atlantic Ocean. Georgia is home to 500 cities, and the capital and most populous city is called Atlanta which is also referred to as "the city in a forest" due to its many rolling hills and dense trees. Before Atlanta became the state's capital, there were four other capitals which were, Savannah, Augusta, Louisville, and Milledgeville. Georgia is referred to as "The Peach State" because of the reputation that it has for producing high-quality fruit. It is also occasionally known as "The Gober State" (Gober is an old word for peanuts, which is the states crop) and "The Empire State of the South."

The first inhabitants of the territory that is now known as Georgia were "Mound Builders" who were inhabitants of North America that constructed earth mounds for religious reasons or burial grounds over a 5,000 year period. The area became a British Colony on February 12th, 1733 following James Oglethorpe (British member of parliament) discovery of the area in 1732 and was named Georgia after Britain's King George II. In 1742, the colony was invaded by the Spanish and in 1776, the Province of Georgia became one of the thirteen colonies to oppose and revolt against British Control and they signed the Declaration of Independence. Georgia became an official state of the United States of America on January 2nd, 1788.

Georgia is home to many attractions which include the Georgia Aquarium which is one of the largest aquariums in the world and is home to over 100,000 animals which include whale sharks, beluga whales, sea lions, bottlenose dolphins, and manta rays. It is the most visited attraction in the state. Georgia is also home to the "Rock City" (located on Lookout Mountain) where it is claimed that one is able to see seven states from there, and "Callaway Gardens" which has approximately 800,000 visitors per year and is located in Pine Mountain.

59,425 sq mi
9,687,653 (2010)
Peach State, Empire State of the South
State Flower
State Bird
Brown Thrasher