Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

South Dakota Flag

Shop for authentic South Dakota Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor South Dakota flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor South Dakota flag sets.

History of the South Dakota Flag

The South Dakota State Flag features a blue field with the state seal on a sun in the center of it. The outer ring of the state seal writes at the top "State of South Dakota" and at the bottom writes "Great 1889 Seal."

The inner circle features a picture of a steamship on the Missouri River with the sky and mountains in the background. On the left side of the river there is a furnace, mill and dump, which represents South Dakota's mining industry.

On the right side of the river is a farmer plowing the field with his horses and cattle which represent South Dakota's agriculture. At the top of the illustration are the words "Under God the People Rule," which is the state's motto.

The steamship on the Missouri River represents the commerce and transportation of the state and the sky and the black hills in the background represent South Dakota's natural resources and natural beauty. The reference to 1889 on the outer ring of the seal is the year South Dakota officially became a state. The South Dakota state flag was adopted on November 9th, 1992.

South Dakota is a state in the Midwestern Region of the United States of America. It shares borders with North Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa, Nebraska, Wyoming, and Montana. The capital city is called Pierre and the largest city is called Sioux Falls. South Dakota was named after "Dakota" who were a tribe of Sioux Indians and translates as "friend." South Dakota is also referred to as "The Mount Rushmore State" due to its very famous and well-known attraction. It also used to be referred to as "The Coyote State" as the coyote was the state animal and "The Sunshine State."

South Dakota has been inhabited for thousands of years. The earlier tribes to inhabit the area were the Cheyenne, Arikara, Ponca, and Lakota, until the Sioux arrived in the 1700s. The first Europeans to visit the area were French brothers, Francois and Louis-Joseph de La Verendrye in 1743, who then proceeded to claim the land for France.

In 1803, following the Louisiana Purchase, the area became part of the United States of America. The first settlement that was established was in 1855 at Fort Pierre during the Lewis and Clarke (explorers) expedition. In 1861, the Dakota territory was established which included South Dakota, North Dakota, Wyoming, and Montana. As more people were arriving to the area, this caused a lot of conflict between the Americans and the Sioux tribes and in 1874, after gold was found in the Black Hills, this resulted in more people arriving to and occupying the area. On November 2nd, 1889, the Dakota territory was split in half and North Dakota and South Dakota officially became the 39th and 40th states of the United States of America (it is unclear, even today, which one officially became a state first).

77,116 sq mi
814,180 (2010)
The Mount Rushmore State
State Flower
Pasque flower
State Bird
Common Pheasant