Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

Ohio Flag

Shop for authentic Ohio Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor Ohio flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor Ohio flag sets.

History of the Ohio Flag

The Ohio State Flag is a "swallowtail flag" that is referred to as "burgee." It features five horizontal bands in alternating white and red colors, and on the left-hand side of the flag is a blue triangle that is pointing into the center of the flag. Inside the triangle is a white and red circle that is surrounded by 17 stars (13 surrounding the circle and 4 in the apex). The red and white stripes on the flag represent the road and waterways of the state, the white circle with the red center that forms an "O" represents Ohio as well as being a reference to the states nickname.

The red center of the white circle represents the seed of the buckeye tree which is Ohio's official state tree. The blue triangle represents the hills and valleys of Ohio and the 13 stars surrounding the circle represent the 13 original colonies and the 4 stars in the apex increase the total number of stars to 17, and Ohio was the 17th State to enter the Union. The Ohio State Flag was designed by John Eisemann and adopted on May 9th, 1902, and it is the only non-rectangular state flag that there is.

Ohio is a state located in the Great Lakes Region of the United States of America. It shares borders with Pennsylvania, Michigan, Lake Erie, Indiana, Kentucky, and West Virginia. The capital city is called Columbus (it became the capital in 1816) and is also the largest city. Ohio was named after Ohio River which was taken from the Iroquois word "Ohi-yo" which translates as "continuously-spilling creek." Ohio is also referred to as "The Buckeye State" as it is famous for its buckeye trees that produce small brown nuts that resemble the eye of a deer. It is sometimes referred to as "The Mother of Presidents" as seven Presidents of the United States of America have been born in Ohio.

Ohio has been inhabited for thousands of years with the earliest inhabitants being mound building cultures, such as the Hopewell and Adena People. During the 1600s, the Iroquois Indians moved to the land and were followed by tribes such as Delaware, Shawnee and Miami. The first European to arrive to the area was French Explorer Robert De La Salle in 1669, when he claimed the land for France. During the 1700s, British colonists began arriving to the area in search for land and conflict began between the French and the English, which led to the French and Indian War in 1754.

In 1763, the English defeated the French during the war and took control over Ohio. In 1783, following the Revolutionary War, Ohio became part of the United States of America and in 1787, the Northwest Territory was created that included Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. The first permanent settlement was established in 1788, called Marietta (after Marie Antoinette) and on March 1st, 1803, Ohio officially became the 17th state of the United States of America.

44,825 sq mi
11,536,504 (2010)
The Buckeye State, The Mother of Presidents, Birthplace of Aviation, The Heart of It All
State Flower
Scarlet Carnation
State Bird
Northern Cardinal