Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

Delaware State Flag

Shop for authentic Delaware Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor Delaware flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor Delaware flag sets.

History of the Delaware Flag

The Delaware State Flag features a blue background. The central feature of the flag is a buff-colored diamond with Delaware's Coat of Arms emblazoned upon the center. The Coat of Arms features a shield with horizontal blue, white, and green stripes and contains a sheaf of wheat, an ear of corn, and an ox. Supporting the shield on the left-hand side is a farmer and on the right-hand side is a soldier. At the top of the shield there is a ship and below the shield is a banner with the state motto, "Liberty and Independence." Below the diamond is the date, December 7th, 1787, which was the date when Delaware became the first state to ratify the US Constitution.

The blue and buff colors on the flag pay homage the colors of the uniform worn by General George Washington. The ship at the top of the shield represents the ship building industry in Delaware. The corn, wheat, ox, and farmer represent the significance of the agricultural industry to the economy of Delaware. The wheat sheaf and ear of corn also pay homage to the crests of Sussex and Kent Counties during the time. The soldier signifies the role of the military in the Revolutionary War. The diamond formation in the center of the flag refers to Thomas Jefferson's nickname for the state, "The Diamond State." Jefferson referred to Delaware as a "jewel among the states" due to its ideal location. The Coat of Arms was adopted on January 17th, 1777 and the current Delaware State Flag was adopted on July 24th, 1913.

Delaware is the second smallest state in the nation and is located in the Northeastern region of the United States. It shares borders with New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, and the Atlantic Ocean. The capital city is Dover. Delaware was named after the Delaware River which was named after Thomas West, 3rd Baron De La Warr, who was an English Nobleman. Delaware is divided into three counties which are New Castle County, Kent Country, and Sussex County.

The earliest inhabitants of the area that is now known as Delaware were Native American tribes which include the Lenape and Nanticoke. In 1631, the area was first colonized by the Dutch Traders until 1638, when New Sweden established a colony at Fort Christina and it was a colony of Sweden for 17 years. In 1651, the Dutch established a fort and following their victory in 1655 against Sweden, Delaware became part of the "Dutch New Netherland." In 1664, the English drove the Dutch out of Delaware and it became an English Colony. Between 1664-1682, the control of Delaware was between the Dutch and the English until it became a colony of Pennsylvania. In 1777, following the Revolutionary War, Delaware became an independent state.

2,490 sq mi
The First State, The Small Wonder, Blue Hen State, The Diamond State
State Flower
Peach blossom
State Bird
Blue Hen Chicken