Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

Tennessee Flag

Shop for authentic Tennessee Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor Tennessee flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor Tennessee flag sets.

History of the Tennessee Flag

The Tennessee State Flag features a crimson field with a blue circle with a white outline and three 5-pointed white stars in the middle of it. On the right-hand side of the flag is a vertical strip of white and blue. The three white stars represent the "three grand divisions" of the state, which are, East Tennessee, Middle Tennessee, and West Tennessee. It is also thought that the three stars represent Tennessee as the third state (following the original 13) to enter the United States of America.

The Tennessee State flag was designed by Colonel LeRoy Reeves whilst he was serving in the Tennessee National Guard and when asked about the design of the flag, he stated, "The three stars are of pure white, representing the three grand divisions of the state. They are bound together by the endless circle of the blue field, the symbol being three bound together in one – an indissoluble trinity.

The large field is crimson. The final blue bar relieves the sameness of the crimson field and prevents the flag from showing too much crimson when hanging limp. The white edgings contrast more strongly the other colors." The Tennessee State flag was adopted on April 17th, 1905.

Tennessee is a state that is located in the Southeastern region of the United States of America. It shares borders with Kentucky, Virginia, North Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Arkansas, and Missouri.

Only Tennessee and Missouri share borders with this many states. The capital and largest city of Tennessee is called Nashville and the second largest city is called Memphis. Tennessee is also known as "The Volunteer State." This is a nickname that Tennessee obtained following the war of 1812 because of the large role the volunteer Tennessee soldiers played during it, especially during the Battle of New Orleans.

Others claim that the state was given this nickname following the Mexican-American war and the volunteer Tennessee soldiers that fought during that. It is also sometimes referred to as "The Big Bend State" as the Indian name for the Tennessee River is "The river with the big bend."

Tennessee was first inhabited approximately 12,000 years ago by Paleo-Indians. Before the Europeans arrived, it was inhabited by many different tribes which included, Archaic, Cherokee, and Chickasaw. The first European to arrive to the area was Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto in 1541, who claimed the area for Spain.

He was followed by Tristan de Luna in 1559 and Juan Pardo in 1567. It was Juan Pardo who named the area "Tanasqui." Despite the visits by the Spanish explorers, settlements were not established until over a hundred years after the land was claimed.

The first settlement, known as "Fort Lick" was built by Charles Charleville in 1714. In 1763, following the French and Indian war, Britain took control of Tennessee and made it part of the North Carolina colony. Following the American Revolutionary War, in 1789, Tennessee became territory of the United States of America and on June 1st, 1796, Tennessee officially became the 16th State.

42,143 sq mi
6,346,105 (2010)
The Volunteer State
State Flower
State Bird
Northern Mockingbird