Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

Malaysia Flag

Shop for authentic Malaysia Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor Malaysia flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor Malaysia flag sets. In addition to the flags we offer for purchase, we maintain an archive of the audio for the Malaysia National Anthem, historical information about the Malaysia flag, and demographic data about Malaysia

History of the Malaysian Flag

The Malaysia flag features 14 red and white stripes with a dark blue rectangle in the top left-hand corner that has a yellow crescent and a yellow 14-point star (which is known as "Bintang Persekutuan" – The Federal Star). The 14 stripes represent the 13-member states (formerly 14) and their equality and the 14 points on the star represents the unity between these states. The crescent represents Islam (the main religion) and the yellow color used for both the crescent and the sun is the royal color of the rulers. The blue rectangle also represents the unity.

The design of the Malaysia flag was heavily influenced by the USA flag. The original Malaysia flag was adopted on May 26th, 1950 and was the same as the present one except it had 11 stripes instead of 14, and the star on it had 11 points. In 1947, a competition was held to create the new national flag. After 373 entries were received, architect Mohamed Hamzah's design was chosen. The star on the flag that he designed, however, only had 5 points and was changed following independence fighter, Dato' Onn Jaafar's suggestion to change it to 11 points to represent the states.

On September 16th, 1963, the present flag was adopted to honour Singapore, Sarawak, and North Borneo joining the federation, making 14 states. It was after this that the new nation was named Malaysia. Even though Singapore left the federation, the Malaysia flag remained the same. In 1997, the Malaysian flag was finally named, "Jallur Gemilang" which translates as "Stripes of Glory."

Malaysia is located in Southeast Asia and shares borders with Thailand, Indonesia, and Brunei. It is linked to Singapore via a bridge. The capital city is called Kuala Lumpur, which is also the largest city in the country.

The country is divided into two parts. East Malaysia is on the northern part of Borneo and the mainland is on the Malay Peninsula. When it was first colonised by Portugal, and then by Britain, the country was called "Malaya," but after gaining independence from the UK, it became the "Federation of Malaya" until 1963 when the three states joined, and it was changed to Malaysia. Every year, National Day is celebrated on August 31st and is referred to as "Hari Merdeka," which translates as "Day of Freedom" to honour their independence.

Malaysia is home to some beautiful sights and greenery, which include the "Taman Negra" which is one of the oldest rainforests in the world. It is also home to the largest cave chamber in the world, known as "Sarawak Chamber" and is located in the Gunung Mulu National Park in the city of Sarawak. The "Petronas Towers" are twin skyscrapers located in Kuala Lumpur that were the world's tallest buildings between 1998-2004 but remain very monumental buildings to the people of Malaysia.

Geographic Coordinates
2 30 N, 112 30 E
329,847 sq km
Life Expectancy
73.55 years
Government Type
Constitutional monarchy
Kuala Lumpur
$381.1 billion (2009 est.)
3.7% (2009 est.)
Ringgit (MYR)
Calling Code
Internet TLD

Malaysia National Anthem

My Country (Negaraku)



My country, the land where my blood is shed,
The people live United and progressive,
Blessings of happiness, may God blessed,
(And that) our King may reign in peace.
Blessings of happiness, may God blessed,
(And that) our King may reign in peace.