Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

Solomon Islands Flag

Shop for authentic Solomon Islands Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor Solomon Islands flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor Solomon Islands flag sets.

History of the Solomon Islands Flag

The Solomon Islands Flag consists of a thin yellow diagonal line that begins from the bottom left - hand corner of the flag to the top right - hand corner of the flag. The upper triangle is blue and the lower triangle is green. In the top left - hand corner of the blue triangle are five 5-pointed stars in the shape of the letter "X."

The Solomon Islands Flag was adopted on November 18th, 1977, which was eight months before the country gained full independence. At this point, it was self - governing. A national contest was held in 1975 to design the Solomon Islands Flag which a New Zealander won. The blue color of the flag represents the water and how important it is to the country in the form of the Pacific Ocean, rain, and rivers. The green color represents the agriculture, land, crops, and trees of the country and the yellow color represents the sun. The five stars were originally supposed to represent the five provinces that the country was divided into it and even when that changed from five provinces, the five stars still remained unchanged on the flag.

The Solomon Islands is an island country located in the Pacific Ocean that shares maritime borders with Australia, Papua New Guinea, New Caledonia, and Vanuatu. The island country is made up of 6 major islands, which are, Guadalcanal, Choiseul, Santa Isabel, New Georgia, Malaita, and Makira and 900 small islands. The capital city of the Solomon Islands is Honiara which is located on the island of Guadalcanal.

The first European to sight the islands was Spanish explorer, Alvara de Mendana who sighted Santa Isabel on February 6th, 1568. He named the islands "Islas de Salomon" after the biblical King Solomon as he wrongly believed that the king's wealth was on the island after finding a sign of gold.

In 1886, the islands were divided between the British and the Germans until 1900 when the Germans ceded the islands to the British and the Solomon Islands became a British Protectorate, known as "The British Solomon Islands Protectorate." During WWII, the Japanese army occupied the island in January 1942, and the majority of fighting during the war took places on the islands for 3 years. In 1976, following Papua New Guinea's independence from Australia, the Solomon Islands became self-governing until their full independence on July 7th, 1978.

The economy of the Solomon Islands is mainly reliant on agriculture, forestry, and fishing. Tourism does contribute to the economy as it is considered to be the one of the top diving destinations in the world but is not as popular as it should be due to the poor infrastructure of the country.

Geographic Coordinates
8 00 S, 159 00 E
28,896 sq km
Life Expectancy
73.94 years
Government Type
Parliamentary Democracy And A Commonwealth Realm
$1.57 billion (2009 est.)
Solomon Islands dollar (SBD)
Calling Code
Internet TLD