Free Shipping on Orders of $75 or More.  Some restrictions apply.  Click for details.

Slovakia Flag

Shop for authentic Slovakia Flags. We offer indoor and outdoor Slovakia flags in durable nylon. Our outdoor flags are finished with a canvas heading, while indoor flags are finished with a lined pole hem and your choice of with or without fringe. We also offer indoor and outdoor Slovakia flag sets. In addition to the flags we offer for purchase, we maintain an archive of the audio for the Slovakia National Anthem, historical information about the Slovakia flag, and demographic data about Slovakia

History of the Slovakian Flag

The Slovakia Flag features thee horizontal bands in the colors of white, blue, and red. Towards the left side of the flag is the country's coat of arms. The coat of arms consists of a red shield that has a double white cross standing on a 3-peaked blue mountain. The colors on the flag which were introduced to the flag in 1848 when Hungary ruled Slovakia are the Pan-Slavic colors that represent the Slavic unity and independence. The cross represents the Christianity religion and the 3-peaked blue mountain represents the mountain ranges, which are the "Tatra," "Fatra," and "Matra." The current Slovakia flag was adopted on September 3rd, 1992 even though it can be dated back to 1848.

The only major difference from the flags used from then until now is either a different coat of arms on them or no coat of arms on it.

Slovakia is a landlocked country in Central Europe that shares borders with Poland, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Hungary, and Austria. The capital and largest city of Slovakia is Bratislava and it is the only capital in the world that shares borders with two countries, which are Austria and Hungary.

In the 11th century, Slovakia became part of the "Kingdom of Hungary." There were two divisions known as Lower Hungary (which the Hungarians occupied) and Upper Hungary (which the Slovakians occupied). In 1241, the "Kingdom of Hungary" was invaded by the Mongols which led to a huge population loss. As a result of this, the Hungarians invited other European settlers which included the Germans, Vlachs from Romania and the Jews. Slovakia was part of the Kingdom of Hungary until 1918 when the Austro-Hungarian Empire collapsed. In 1918, following the collapse, Slovakia, Bohemia, Moravia, Czech Silesia, and Carpathian Ruthenia formed Czechoslovakia until 1989 when Czechoslovakia consisted of the Czech Socialist Republic and the Slovak Socialist Republic. Due to tensions within the government and the Velvet Revolution, the two countries gained independence in 1992.

Slovakia's economy is mainly reliant on heavy industry such as mining and the productions of machinery, as well as agriculture and tourism which is now contributing to the economy. Tourism is not as progressive as in neighboring countries but the country's tourism has been increasing over recent year. Slovakia is home to 180 castles and 425 chateaux, which is the highest amount in the world. It Is also home to over 6,000 caves, one of the most important ones being the "Ochtinska Aragonite Cave" which is one of three aragonite caves in the world, the others being in Mexico and Argentina. The most visited peak in Slovakia is the "Gerlachovsky Stit" which is the highest point in Slovakia and a very popular attraction. The Ruins of Spis Castle is one of the largest castle sites within Central Europe and another very popular tourist attraction.

Geographic Coordinates
48 40 N, 19 30 E
49,035 sq km
Life Expectancy
75.62 years
Government Type
Parliamentary Democracy
$115.7 billion (2009 est.)
11.4% (2009)
Euro (EUR)
Calling Code
Internet TLD

Slovakia National Anthem

Lightning Over the Tatras (Nad Tatrou sa blyska)



There's lightning over the Tatras,
thunderclaps wildly beat.
Let us stop them, brothers,
They'll just disappear,
the Slovaks will revive.

That Slovakia of ours
has been fast asleep so far.
But the thunder's lightning
is rousing it
to come awake.